Food Blogger Voices

I follow the Cooking Frog’s Blog, authored by a French woman in Vancouver, and was laughing out loud recently at her amusing piece on having to fly all the way back to Aix-en-Provence to find a rabbit to cook her favourite roast rabbit with Dijon mustard.  Canadians surely must have been grateful for rabbit meat at some point in the development of their nation, though  apparently now they are appalled at the very idea of eating Bugs Bunny.  And her stuck-up Canadian butcher kind of scoffed at her when she asked if they stocked such a thing.

What I like about her blog–other than the particular slant of her humour–is that she talks/writes her way through making a dish, often with no lists of ingredients, no precise measurements and scant methodology–such a simple and confident way to present what you are cooking in your life.  She blogs about normal family French cooking, the food of her.  And the pix are what please her, a skinned rabbit on a plate for example.

It pleases me too. We need no more than she offers to be engaged and feel that we could easily replicate her food.  I admire too her quiet authority and the sense of a deep history of good cooking.

Ah, there could be a Canadian theme developing.  Chocolate & Ginger’s owner in Alberta, for example, has quite a different take.  She is a highly energetic marathon runner/all round sporty person and designer (e.g. not in the least like me).  Her recipes are well illustrated, typically with a quartet of foodie nouns strung together to describe them: –Honey Rosemary Cornbread Muffins–Mango Almond Coconut Quinoa–Apple Cheddar Rosemary Scones…

I defy you to wonder about those and not click on….and then to wonder at finding Chocolate and Ginger’s cheddar is (deliberately) 6 years old, her freezer contains ground elk meat, she picks up Jamie Oliver spices in London and invites her pals to Paris.  Her meals are healthy too for Gawd’s sake.  Is it the lifestyle wrapper I like?  Am I so shallow?  I do like too that she takes other people’s recipes, acknowledges, fiddles, healthies them up, names them better and bends her life around it all in a blog where she is just off skiing shortly (fyi) but rustled up this fab sounding dish even though there was no food in the cupboard ‘cos she is just off skiing and had cancelled the grocery delivery. I kind of only half believe it, and then slap myself for being cynical.  And then I chill and enjoy.

So, here is (perhaps) what I am ruminating. Today, we could be admiring *ownership* and *identity*.  The confidence or smarts to own the food that is in your life and to give it an identity, such that it ends up in someone’s/anyone else’s purview, in a blogosphere whose collective stomach must be groaning…well, that’s something of note.

Tags: ,

Categories: Oddities and Food Stories

Subscribe to This Post's Comments

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Food Blogger Voices”

  1. October 31, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    You are right on! and I will add your comments to my blog. I could not have said it better. My daughter called last week to say, Maman I am making the ratatouille for 9, how many eggplant should I buy?. But she executed the ratatouille perfectly from the directions and I added her pictures to the original postings. Long live French home cooking, using available seasonal ingredients, not always exactly the same and not as precise as a formula. I hate it when recipes call for 1/4 tsp of thyme. The fun is to calibrate your own sprinkle of spices and herbs.

  2. November 15, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    This is a nice idea. Thanks for introducing me to two new blogs. I have added them to my RSS feed.

  3. February 21, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    Hya, I’ve given you The Versatile Blogger Award and linked you from my blog x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Cooking Frog’s blog reviewed | The Cooking Frog's Blog - October 31, 2011

    […] the Hampshire Cook: I follow the Cooking Frog’s Blog, authored by a French woman on Vancouver Island, and was […]

