Ratatouille Recipe

20110602-185528.jpg

I don’t usually make ratatouille as it contains bell peppers, but took took a notion today to try a “pepper-less” version. I could not find yellow courgettes but half yellow and half green would certainly have added some extra colour, but no matter, it was super nice as a side dish to lamb burgers.

Ingredients (to serve 4 as a side dish):

  • 1 large Courgette/Zucchini
  • 1 large Aubergine/Eggplant
  • 1 large White Onion
  • 3 fat cloves Garlic
  • 8 small button Mushrooms
  • 2 smallish Tomatoes
  • 1 Carton or can of Chopped Tomatoes in juice
  • Large pinch of Herbes de Provence
  • Small pinch salt and a few grinds of black pepper

Method:
Chop the aubergine into thick slices and salt to remove any bitterness. Slice the onion vertically into eighths and cook slowly in a large heavy-based pot on the stove in some olive oil until just softened. Add in roughly hand-minced garlic. Slice and chop the courgette into large chunks. Add in with the button mushrooms, halved. Cook until lightly coloured. Add in the tomatoes, quartered. Pat the aubergine dry of any moisture and cut into large chunks. Add in with the herbs and the canned tomatoes. Season. Do not add any other liquid. Cook with a lid on over a low heat, stirring occasionally for about 1 hour.

PS I wrote this entire post, plus taking and inserting photographs AND posted this to the blog all from my phone. How cool is that? I swear if I was chocolate I could eat myself…

PPS oops, posted as a page first and not a post, guess I am not so smart after all!!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Side Dishes, Vegetarian/Vegetables

Subscribe to This Post's Comments

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Ratatouille Recipe”

  1. July 15, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    I have wanted to post something like this on my site and you have given me an idea. Cheers.
    Recipes for diabetics

