UNSUBSCRIBE me from this Blagging about Blogging…

Carrot & Cardamom Soup

Oh, plus a recipe for Carrot and Cardamom Soup. Just scroll past the next paragraph or two¬†if all you were looking for was a soup recipe ūüėČ

Rant:

Blaggers¬†and Bullshitters.¬†¬†I am¬†unsubscribing¬†from a few blogs and twitters from fellow family cooking types¬†because I cannot stand feeling¬†this inadequate.¬† One blogger/blagger, allegedly in one day from her tweets and posts, wrote¬†three paid-for food articles,¬†baked and decorated two paid-for cakes to order, supervised a playdate for an impossibly named child (Phelia¬†or Persephi¬†or some other¬†silly name that¬†embarrassingly lays naked¬†parental social aspirations) where they all made scrummy kiddie cupcakes together–beautifully photographed of course–and then, if that wasn’t enough, felted her own hand-knitted¬†shit in the¬†washing machine¬†while cooking a delicious multi-course anniversary meal from scratch for her husband.¬† And she has previously trumpeted that she crochets her own bikinis, thus leading one to believe she also looks good in a bikini.¬† Bullshit.¬† If this woman is real, there are one of two things going on: either a dangerously¬†overactive thyroid or some massive over-compensation complex, either of which require immediate medical attention.¬† But,¬†I now reckon she is¬†manufactured, a conglomerate persona run by some marketing company or another to try to sell stuff¬†by sucking you into some¬†unachievable idea of womanhood, probably via¬†concealed product placement or other mind-bending psychomarketing ploys.¬† I am so on to you now, you blaggers who blog!

By 10am this morning,¬†I have cleaned the cats tray, loaded and unloaded the dishwasher, cleaned the oven, made beds, put on a laundry¬†and cut up veg for soup.¬† I might make risotto later on after I have done¬†my exam marking but I am already knackered.¬† I am sincerely hoping not to have to go pick up any groceries today, I think there is just enough milk and bread, etc. to do us until at least tomorrow.¬† So there.¬† That’s reality and I promise never to lie about it…rant over.¬† Actually I lied already, I haven’t made my bed yet.

 
 

Soup Ingredients


Carrot and Cardamom Soup Recipe:

 

Not fond of carrot and coriander soup, sometimes tastes like fairy liquid to me, so thought I would try cardamom instead as I love that light, lemony fragrant taste. 

 

 

Ingredients for 4:

  • 1.5 lb Carrots, 700g, washed and chopped into medium to large dice, just helps with the blending later on
  • A few pale, inside stalks of Celery because that is what I had in the fridge, the outer ones were a bit tough, ropey¬†and stringy and I could not be fagged destringing celery–life being too short to stuff a mushroom and all that
  • 1 small Leek, sliced, again because it was in the fridge looking lonely
  • Three or four Shallots, minced
  • Couple of cloves of Garlic, minced
  • 6¬†whole Cardamom pods
  • 1 Bay Leaf for fun
  • Squeeze of lemon, lime or orange, whatever citrus you fancy
  • 2 Pints thin Vegetable Stock, I made up mine from a tub of Marigold Vegetable Bouillon

Method:

Gently¬†soften the onion, leek, celery, shallots and garlic in a large heavy based pot, your choice of oil or butter, I use olive oil with a little bit of butter too.¬† Add in the¬†cardamom¬†pods and turn up the heat just a little bit till they start to release their fragrance, which is subtle but if you leave the kitchen and come back the scent is glorious.¬† Add in the carrots.¬† Sweat for 5 minutes, then add in a bay leaf and the stock.¬† Bring to the boil and simmer for around¬†35 minutes until the carrots are very soft.¬† Remove the bay leaf.¬† Fish around for the cardamoms, which will¬†in all likelihood be floating (apart from one, there’s always one!), squish out the softened seeds into the soup and discard the husks.¬†After blending, taste and season with salt/pepper and citrus.¬† I did not add any salt as the lemon was enough.

Some recipes call for grinding the cardamom in a pestle and mortar or adding it in later, after the soup has cooked as a sort of powder mix-through.  This is just wrong.  Asian spices need to fry to release their flavours and fragrances.  I know because I lived in Asia for five years.  Cardamoms soften and slightly open themselves with a little heat.

And the taste?  As I suspected it would be, lightly fragrant and lemony, with a really good colour, far deeper orange than the pic shows.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Soup Recipes, Vegetarian/Vegetables

Subscribe to This Post's Comments

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “UNSUBSCRIBE me from this Blagging about Blogging…”

  1. January 5, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Ha ha – brilliant. Is there really such a blog?

    • January 5, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

      Yes, there so is!! I may have slightly exaggerated, but only by a tiny smidgen, i.e. I invented the anniversary dinner for her hub, the rest is pretty much REAL. Yeah, real bullshit. It has been getting steadily more ridiculous over the last few weeks, and then it just got annoying and completely unbelievable. Save me from the Martha Stewart wannabies!

  2. January 5, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    I think all blogs are a little bit like that. I, for example, just don’t post on the days I stay in my jammies all day, the house is a mess and I don’t eat anything at all nourishing! But definitely best to unsubscribe from ridiculous ones like that!
    And, by the way, I’m VERY impressed with what you had managed to achieve by 10am today! I’m unlikely to achieve that much in the whole day.

    • January 5, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      Yeah, but I have now had ’nuff. Am off to have a wee lie down with the cat, who has been lying down since about 9am. He just couldn’t hang around for the oven cleaning, too exhausting for him to watch.

  3. January 5, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    You did all that by 10am? I am unsubscribing with immediate effect. ūüôā

    • January 5, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

      Sorry took so long to approve your comment, I had to have a lie down! Pacing myself, never good at it.

  4. January 5, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    How can you feel inadequate when your blog is this good?????

    James

    • January 5, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

      Ha! V. Funny. Flattery will get you everywhere young man….!!

  5. March 13, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Haha best blog post ever! Love it! Good on you for making a statement for all us mere mortals! ūüôā

