Recipe: Chicken with Sundried Tomato Pesto and Parmesan

When is something a bona fide recipe and not just a meal idea?  Who knows, but on Wednesday Cordon Bleu was out the window, not the least because I had a 3  hour power cut, grrr. Anyhoo, here is what I made for dinner and it was really nice:

Ingredients: Chicken with Sundried Tomato Pesto and Parmesan (Serves 4 and takes around 30 minutes)

  • 4 x medium size Chicken fillets, boneless
  • Small jar of Sundried Tomato Pesto
  • Handful of fresh Basil, I used Greek Basil, it is a little more pungent and looks cute on my window sill
  • Tablespoon of Parmesan cheese
  • Ground black Pepper to season
  • I thought later you could throw in some sliced or stoned Olives, that would be lovely

Method:

Pre-heat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius, 375 degrees Farenheit.  Slash the chicken breasts with a couple of deep diagonal scores, then fully coat in the pesto sauce in an oven-proof dish, adding in torn basil leaves, or the tiny little Greek basil leaves whole.   Spoon the marinade into the scored areas and leave to soak in the flavours for half an hour (if you can spare the time) but not essential.   Season with black pepper and sprinkle over finely grated parmesan.  The dish probably does not need extra salt because the pesto sauce should provide enough.

Place in the oven for half an hour for regular sized chicken breasts, or less if your chicken is a bit on the thin side, more if it is some enormous hunk of supersized choock.  Boned chicken breasts will take longer, check this separately with the packaging.  Because of the red colour sauce, you will not be able to tell if the “chicken juices are running clear”, if you are concerned the best thing is to slice into a thick part of one of the breasts and check for any raw pinkiness, in which case return to the oven.

Serve with pasta, or as I did, with mini-roast potatoes and steamed green beans.  Fab dinner, even though I can hardly claim to have made it myself…the sauce is lovely to spoon all over the mini-roast potatoes.  We were too hungry to take pix, I’ll take a photo and post it up here next time I make this.  It wont be long.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Chicken

Subscribe to This Post's Comments

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Recipe: Chicken with Sundried Tomato Pesto and Parmesan”

  1. janemaynard
    November 11, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    hi there! just wanted to let you know you are the featured blogger on the FoodPress.com homepage today – love how you have so many recipes and aim for simple but delicious cooking for your family. have a great day! jane

    • November 11, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

      I saw it! I shrieked! Thank you so much, I tweeted my thanks too, and boy has this been good exposure. I love the new Foodpress.com site, think it is a great WordPress addition for all us foodie blogger people.

