Kitchen Gadget Rehab…Taking Back Control

In the past year I have given away (via “freecycle”, a fantastic organisation) or otherwise disposed of the following kitchen items:

  • Silicon Egg Poachers that look like moulds for breast implants and do not work
  • A duplicate set of measuring cups (why did I have THREE lots to start with? and why do I still have TWO sets now for that matter?)
  • 1 Slow Cooker (nicknamed the very slow cooker round our house)
  • 1 Juicer that was utterly pathetic in its ability to extract an amount anyone could call a “drink of juice”
  • Loads of mismatched Tupperware containers that just fell off shelves every time I was stacking away dishes, and as my husband kindly pointed out, were only little plastic temporary coffins for never-to-be-consumed leftovers that turned our fridge into something resembling a morgue.
  • Several casserole dishes in sizes I do not use, i.e. the enormous ones that hardly fit in the oven without a shove, and the teensy ones that are not ramekins — I have no idea what or who these were for, fairy banquets presumably
  • A bright yellow padded banana bag that was supposed to keep your bananas fresh and failed miserably in its primary mission
  • Lots of other useless items from my small but expensive Lakeland kitchen gadgets habit that I managed to kick “cold turkey”…ho, ho
  • I also rationalised my chopping boards by actually binning the old, scored ones that I no longer use…I mean, what were they hanging about there for?  The Last Rights? Resurrection?  Strength in numbers so they could stage a coup?

The microwave is off my countertops too and in the garage, plugged in but used almost never.  I highly recommend kitchen rehab: it is just not seemly to be caught desperately rummaging about  in over-stuffed drawers for one’s equipment …

Tags: ,

Categories: Oddities and Food Stories, Ovens, Gadgets and Gizmos, Uncategorized

Subscribe to This Post's Comments

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Kitchen Gadget Rehab…Taking Back Control”

  1. September 18, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    Ah, just as I was thinking about writing a “Top 10 Kitchen Gadgets” post, I read this! Still not sure if you’ve put me off :p

  2. September 19, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    Go for it, some stuff is undeniably useful. You couldn’t offer me a mound of money to part with my 15 year-old electric hand-blender…well, actually, you could…

  3. September 25, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    Hey can I copy and paste this post on my web site? What references must I give? You might give this info for other people too.

    • September 26, 2010 at 10:51 am #

      Sure, but to do so you must put a link back to my original post and make sure people know that it is me that is the author of the post and not yourself, that is how these things normally work. Thank you.

