Sausage Roll Swirls

Like most people I guess, I get fed up with cooking sometimes and just buy in a pack of sausage rolls to shove in the oven and have with chips for tea.  Because of my allergy, I am forced to have to read the ingredients, and quite often I just put the packet of whatever it is right back on the shelves, not for any allergy reasons but because the weird and wonderful ingredients lists has put me off.  Here is the list of contents of a leading branded sausage roll as one example:

British Pork, Wheat Flour, Pork Fat, Vegetable Oil, Water, Egg, Salt, Potato Starch, Spices, Herbs (0.2%), Salt, Spices, Maltodextrin, Rusk, Flavouring, Malt Extract, Yeast Extract, Vegetable Oil, Onion Powder, Lactose, Sugar, Sage Extract.

I have no idea what maltodextrin is and would rather not know, thanks.  So, I bought some pork mince and some puff pastry to make my own, and as the prep time was less than 10 minutes for the lovely recipe below, I can’t really complain too much…

Recipe: Sausage Roll Swirls

Sausage Roll Swirls

Sausage Roll Swirls

I found the original recipe in a copy of Grazia magazine and made these over the weekend.  I have adjusted the quantities based on what I actually used and what is readily available in supermarkets.  I have also updated and corrected some of the instructions. 

 

Ingredients:

(Makes around 20)

  • 500g minced Pork or sausagemeat
  • 1 medium sized Onion, chopped finely
  • 1 heaped teaspoon of dried Sage or a tablespoon of chopped fresh Sage
  • 75g finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • Salt and Pepper to season
  • 425g ready-rolled all-butter Puff Pastry
  • 1 medium egg, beaten

Method:

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius (Gas Mark 6)

In a mixing bowl, combine the minced pork, sage, chopped onion and parmesan.  Season with salt and pepper.  (I did not put in any salt because I thought the parmesan would provide more than enough saltiness, but I would add salt when making these again, as the dish does need this.)

On a floured surface , gently turn out the sheet of pastry, you can make the rectangle bigger by just a couple of inches (5cm) or so all round with a floured rolling pin.  My pastry came as two sheets, so I divided the pork mixture into two and placed half the mixture on top of one of the rolled sheets.  I found spreading the mixture evenly over the sheet a little tricky; using a rolling pin to do this really helped.  Leave a 1cm, quarter of an inch border free of mixture down the long sides of the pastry rectangle.  On one long edge, turn in the border, and then continue rolling the pastry over like a Swiss roll.  The original recipe says roll the short end over, this is not correct, you roll the long edge over.  You end up with a gigantic sausage roll and it is much easier than I thought it would be to do this.  Wet the border with water to seal the edge to the roll.  Brush all over with beaten egg, and slice with a sharp knife into 2.5cm rounds (1 1/4 inch).  Lightly oil a baking sheet, and line with greaseproof paper, I would also recommend oiling the greaseproof paper surface too as the first batch I made got a bit “stuck”, which was mildly irritating.   Lay the swirls flat on the sheet, leaving some room around each swirl for the pastry to expand, and bake for 40-45 mins until golden and puffy.  You can eat these hot or cold and serve either as a main or as an hors d’eouvres.  We managed to eat 3 each as a main course with hand-made oven chips and roasted veg, and ate the remainder cold next day as a snack.  They are very savoury and very more-ish.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Pork

Subscribe to This Post's Comments

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

